Defensive people are prideful.

While I was watching a sermon on YouTube about ladies and how they dress having an influence on men and their lust I came across this video. I read the title, and was rather intrigued. I’d heard this before, but I never gave it much thought. I pushed play, turned up the volume, and listened intently during the next 5 minutes. I found myself nodding in agreement, recalling times in my life when I refused to “listen” to what others said, and constantly “defended” my stance on any and every issue – big or little, important or insignificant.

Take a few minutes and watch the video. I think it will help you.

Leave your thoughts below. Feel free to share any additional resources you may know of on this topic.

Posted on December 15, 2010, in YouTube & Videos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. That was great!! Illbehonst is a great guy!!

  2. ‘Defensive people are prideful.’

    That seems a reasonable point. And online and offline many times persons do not want to even discuss touchy subjects.

    ‘While I was watching a sermon on YouTube about ladies and how they dress having an influence on men and their lust…;

    Reasonable as well. As a Christian man in regard to women and women in the Church I should primarily be concerned with the inner person of a woman.
    And frankly, the beauty of a woman can be seen even with conservative dress.

    This is my second attempt, I had some trouble with my net connection the first time.

    Russ:)

    • “I should primarily be concerned with the inner person of a woman.
      And frankly, the beauty of a woman can be seen even with conservative dress.”

      for your first point – true. However, God also intended for man to be attracted to women, and vice versa. With that said, the woman should dress attractively without attracting.

      for your second point – I believe conservative (or rather “modest” and “feminine” are better words) dress makes a woman *more* beautiful because she is completely covered and is not causing men to be distracted with how low her shirt is cut, or how high and tight her skirt is, etc. Cover up. There’s no need to flaunt everything God gave you… there’s no need, and it’s wrong.

      Thank you for your comment. 🙂

  3. Very good! But regarding “defensiveness” perhaps the question to ask is: “What am I defending? My faith? My family? Or myself?” Undoubtedly answering false accusation can be done with humility (just as Jesus defended Himself when accused of performing miracles in the power of Beelzebub). But sadly, seldom are my actions so untainted by pride or my reactions so purely motivated by my concern for God’s glory. Too often (having set aside the Breastplate of Righteousness) I wield the Sword in my defense and bludgeon others with the Shield.

    • While I do agree with alot of what you said, there comes a point that one must realize that we (as Christians) are going to be constantly accused, categorized, and mocked throughout the entirety of our lives. There are some things that just aren’t worth defending. Plus, there are times in your defending that all you’re doing is acting in opposition to Proverbs 24:6.
      There are still yet, other things that are worthy of our defense; the principle is still the same though.
      When you’re defending yourself to protect your pride or self-image, it becomes a selfish defense – all you’re doing is wasting time. What does it matter what Person A or Person B thinks of you? When you’re defending something just to “prove your point” what good is that? It rarely works. And quite honestly, the time you spent defending that could have been spent witnessing to your neighbor or a loved one – much more good would come of it.

      🙂 Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment!

  4. thank you for sharing. it has helped me a lot!

Leave a Reply

