The Challenge: 7 days of skirts {day 7}

Better late than never! …here’s day 7 of The Challenge! I enjoyed doing this challenge, even though I ran out of time to do the posts on a couple of the days! However, I finished, and that is the main thing.

Sometimes it’s weird when people at work or school ask me why I always wear skirts or dresses. Sometimes people catch me at an off-moment and I don’t have pretty words to give them an answer. Sometimes the only answer I can muster is “because…”

But “because” isn’t good enough. The truth is that I used to hate wearing skirts and dresses, and don’t even get me started on culottes. *deep sigh* It took years for the Lord to get me to understand the reasoning behind why it’s important for me to dress like a lady – modestly and feminine. It took years of my parents talking to me and explaining the “why” to me. But I got it… The light bulb finally dawned above my head, and I finally understood.

Here’s the outfit for day 7…

In my day 1 Challenge post, I promised that I would answer the questions found at the home post of The Challenge. This is me keeping my promise…

Q: How was the experience for you?

A: This is experience was fun, and I enjoyed carefully planning out each outfit rather than just grabbing the first thing I saw in my closet. I actually put a little more though into my outfits so I wouldn’t look like a hodge-podge scrub in my pictures. 🙂

Q: Any particular stories?

A: How about if I make a confession instead? 😉 There was a day (or two) that I actually didn’t wear the same shirt I wore for the pictures, or the same shoes – mainly because either I spilled something on the shirt at work, or the shoes were uncomfortable to wear all day during a 9-12-hour shift at work. However, the other shoes might not have completed the outfit exactly like the photographed shoes did… so I cheated, and switched them up before I posed for the camera! {shhh…}

Q: Did wearing skirts rather than pants affect the way you felt? The way you felt about yourself? The way you acted? The way you carried yourself?

A: Absolutely! Skirts make me feel pretty! That may sound like a shallow statement to you, but when I used to wear pants I would tend to revert back into my macho-ninja chick attitude. There’s something about looking in the mirror and seeing myself in a skirt/dress… I feel like a lady. I feel like I should feel… how God made me to feel.

I know that God makes us all different, but I truly believe the general makeup and attitudes are all there depending on your gender. If you’re a girl, you’re going to act a certain way; if you’re a boy, you will also have certain tendencies. It’s the human nature we all have. Sure, some girls will be more girly than others, and some guys will be more masculan than others… I get it. There are different personality types out there. But we’ll all have the basics.

When I’m wearing a pencil skirt and a pair of high heels, I act way different than if I’m running around in a denim skirt and flats. I feel more professional when I’m all dressed up… verses the “charge the shopping mall” attitude I feel when I’m in a more casual outfit. Nothing is wrong with either feeling… it’s just that there is a time and place for everything.

Q: Were you able to go about everyday activity as freely as pants?

A: I never really felt restricted by wearing skirts. Of course, there are some things better left alone when you’re wearing a skirt or a dress (i.e. trampolines, climbing trees, riding horses, etc). Of course, I did find it a little difficult to dribble a basketball between my legs in a pair of drop-waste, heavily-pleated culottes… but I’d rather not discuss that horrid, painful memory. 😉 I said all that to say, I never had a problem keeping up while wearing a skirt… or culottes. I found that I could do just as much as the next person in jeans.

Q: How did people respond?

A: To be quite honest, people are very used to seeing me in skirts. In fact, if I were to walk into work wearing pants they’d all stop and look at me and ask me if I was feeling alright. 😉 However, people who don’t really know me will ask me a question every once in a while. Usually though, either they’re not around long enough to care, or they don’t know me well enough to get up the courage and ask me why I’m always wearing skirts. Who knows… I might have a medical condition… or… something. okay…

Q: After the challenge do you desire to keep wearing skirts more regularly, or were you desperate to wear pants again?

A: I definitely want to keep wearing skirts. In fact, I wouldn’t mind going shopping and expanding my skirt collection! Anyone care to join? 😉

I hope everyone had a wonderful Monday! Blessings to you all.

Posted on December 13, 2010, in Modesty, The Challenge: 7 days of skirts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. This made me smile! 🙂 I love reading about girls who love to be ladies! Loved your answers at the end!:)
    Isn’t it funny when you watch a girl come in and the guy that’s near the door doesn’t even turn and open it for her, but then when you head toward the door dressed like a lady even if he’s 10 feet away he runs to open it for you?;) That happens so often and that sad thing is they don’t even know they are doing it. But girls who dress like ladies get treated like them!
    Interesting story for you. My brother works with a bunch of unsaved guys and came home from work with this story. He said the guys he worked with make gross and sexist comments about every girl that walks past. Comments mainly to do with their anatomy. But one day a girl came out the door and she had a skirt on, not a ONE of them opened their mouth and said a thing. They looked and then went back to work. And he said she was the prettiest girl all day and it wasn’t as though her skirt was even the most modest of skirts. He said he was shocked to see the respect they showed her and how they refrained from rude comments because she looked like a lady. He also said that he thinks that most Christian girls (those with a heart to please God) if they knew what guys thought and said about them might choose to dress like ladies more often.

    • “girls who dress like ladies get treated like them!” — I love this.

      “they knew what guys thought and said about them might choose to dress like ladies more often.” — Actually, I think this would hold true for a lot more than just Christian girls. When I dressed immodestly, I might have acted like I didn’t care… but whenever guys would make lewd comments or whistles and all that stuff, I’d immediately wish I had a little more clothes on. I hated the extra attention I was getting – especially knowing WHY I was getting it. It made me feel vulnerable, and, well… a bit like a piece of raw steak.

  2. Sometimes the only answer I can muster is “because…”

    Because it makes me more who I am.

  3. Classic and cute. Nice outfit. 🙂 I detest wearing dresses and skirts. I guess if I have to choose I prefer a long black skirt than a dress where I feel more self conscious. I don’t know if I’m at the point where I could wear dresses or skirts all the time. Jeans are just so incredibly comfortable. But then of course no wonder I have problems with feeling feminine. I don’t dress like a girl so no wonder I don’t feel like one.

  4. Hope you are hvanig a GREAT Friday. I am here to follow you from Follow Friday. Hope you can follow me also.By the way, I am also hvanig an apron giveaway on my blog right now. I do an APRON GIVEAWAY once a month, Hope you can enter. Terry

  5. Today, I went to the beach front with my kids.
    I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the
    shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.

    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had to tell
    someone!

Leave a Reply

