Repost: Desperate.

It occurred to me one night as I was thinking about some things… desperation will make one of two things happen in your life: it will either cause you to surrender, or it will destroy you. You cannot have it both ways though.

I’m ashamed to admit, I’ve been desperate for many things in my life… Attention, money, an understanding shoulder to cry on, love, rest, sinful pleasures, a new car, a listening ear, friends, and some things that necessarily aren’t bad. But these are all things that should be second place – on the back burner, if you will – not in the forefront of my mind.

In the book of Lamentations, which really means the “Book of Weeping.” the prophet penned these words (3:21-25):

This I recall to my mind, therefore have I hope. It is of the LORD’S mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness. The LORD is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him. The LORD is good unto them that wait for him, to the soul that seeketh him.

I want to be desperate, but not for the things of this world; not for the things that this life has to offer; not for the tangible things which are corruptible. No. I want to be desperate for my God. I want to seek after Him with all my heart, mind, and soul. I want to know the depth of both the riches and glory of Jesus Christ.

“As the hart panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after thee, O God. My soul thirsteth for God, for the living God…” ~ Psalm 42:1, 2a

What are you desperate for?
Or rather… Who are you desperate for?

Think about it.

Posted on December 10, 2010, in Christian Life, Repost and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Living alone, I can be really wishing for someone to talk to. My mom and I talk over the phone each day but that’s sometimes the only human contact I have other than the internet. When I get together with people I sometimes want to dominate the conversation. I need to learn to listen to other people’s issues and needs and joys. That’s an important part of human contact is listening and ministering. if i was loving the Lord with all my heart, soul and mind this would come easier.

    Thank you for this post. I appreciate you.

    • purplefacedpansy,
      I get what you’re saying… I relate to it all too well. I actually still live with my parents… but that doesn’t stop me from being lonely alot. My dad works alot of hours, and my mom is at my Grandma’s house alot taking care of her. My brother has a house of his own, and the dog lives with my brother. So, it’s quite often that I find myself at home alone… just me, my laptop, the TV, my books, and my piano. BUT… I find that I do my best thinking and my best writing and the most reading when I’m alone in those quiet moments. I’ve learned to welcome them. I long for them now. Which is rather weird for me… because I would consider myself very much a people person. 😉

  2. Heather Joy,

    Don’t you wish that we all could have the attitude of Paul…

    Phil 4:11-13 (KJV)
    11Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, [therewith] to be content.12 I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.13I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

    I think the ability to be contented is an act of God’s grace in our lives.

    Thanks for another good post

    • Paul is one of my favorite New Testament people. Apart from Jesus, I can’t wait to talk to him in Heaven. What glory.

      Philippians 4:11 has become one of my favorite verses throught this health “situation” that the Lord is taking me through right now. It’s so much easier to handle when I know that the Lord does nothing without a solid purpose behind it. Romans 8:28.

      “I think the ability to be contented is an act of God’s grace in our lives.” — AMEN.

  3. Good question.
    If we answer honestly we would have to admit that many things jostle for our attention – some good and some not so good. The flesh lusts against the Spirit and this is and always will be a battle while we are living on earth. However, we have the wonderful assurance that “Greater is He who is in you than he who is in the world.”
    Thankfully we know the victories and the blessedness of denying wrong things and choosing God’s way and as the old hymn says “Each victory will help you some other to win.”
    Truthfully, there are times when I am desperate for God and thirsting for His righteousness – and He has never forsaken me. He is always more willing to give than we are to receive of His goodness.

    • You are so right, my friend. What a comfort to know that our God is the Great and Mighty Fortress. He’s the City of Refuge that I run to when I need shelter and protection. He’s the Alpha and Omega – the Beginning and the End of a thing. He’s the Great I AM – forever supplying my every need through this life.
      Thank you for the encouraging comment.
      May God continue to richly bless you.
      ~ Heather Joy

  4. I find myself struggling with this as well. Many times it is, as you noted, not sinful things we struggle with desiring, but rather simply things that consume our attention and thoughts. My friend wrote an article similar to this one called “Being at peace with the Lord’s Timing.” It deals with just being patient. We know all good things take time, and also that we, as His children, can be sure He has our best interests at heart. Good internal look!

    • “We know all good things take time, and also that we, as His children, can be sure He has our best interests at heart.” — AMEN.

      It’s not always about choosing between the “good” and the “bad”… but rather, choosing between the “good” and the “best.”

Leave a Reply

