Question of the day: suicide.

While I understand that God is the final Judge of all people, I’m interested to know what opinions and beliefs others have on matters… and this is one of those matters.

I know people who have attempted suicide and I know people who have succeeded in suicide. And I’ve heard both sides to this issue – but never with a convincing “argument” (if you will). I’ve been asked on many occasions what my opinion was about this matter, so I’m opening it up for discussion.

Here’s the question…

Can someone commit suicide and still go to Heaven? Or does the act of committing suicide result in losing all hope for forgiveness?

I have heard the argument that some say suicide shows such strong rebellion which usurps God’s position as the “Giver and Taker of life.”  I have heard people say that suicide is murder of the self. I have been told that suicide shows a lack of faith in God, cutting short the divine plan of the Almighty.

So what are your thoughts? Do you have any Scripture to support your opinion?

Posted on November 29, 2010, in Question of the Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I would say “yes”, someone can commit suicide and still go to Heaven. I could quote something like Romans 8:38, but I don’t think it’s necessary.

    Suicide is often done as a last resort of desperation, not out of violent rebellion. And anyway, no rebellion can usurp God’s position…

    Suicide may show a lack of faith in God, but then so does not praying. So does not reading the bible and believing its truth. So does ignoring lonely people on the street.

  2. Once we are forgiven by God the blood of Christ covers our sin past, present and future. However, we should nev er use this truth to justify living a life of sin once we are saved. Paul makes it plain that we are not to “continue i sin that grace may abound”.

    Since the Bible does teach that we are saved eternally, if a true believer commits suicide they would not loose their salvation. They would: lose eternal rewards, tarnish their Christian testimony, fail in setting the proper example for others facing similar circumstances in their life etc etc etc.

    I guess to sum it up, they would enter into heaven BUT would have missed some tremendous oppportunities to glorify their Savior and set a wonderful example of faith in their Lord by continuing on in faith instead of bringing their life to an end

  3. I was always taught that suicide was murder (of yourself), and meant you could not go to heaven.

    I’ve become much less sure of that.

    First, that teaching is inferred from passages about murder. But the Bible, as far as I know, does not specifically say it. And I have learned, little by little, that if the Bible does NOT say something, our rule should be: be careful.

    In the Bible, in fact, suicide was sometimes considered an act of honor – as in Saul falling on his own sword rather than allowing the Philistines to kill him. And I’ve read (but can’t verify) that in some cultures, like the Eskimos, it’s considered normal for the elderly to commit suicide rather than be a burden to their families. I’ve also known of one very good Christian leader who committed suicide rather than continue to endure the agonies of cancer. Would God condemn him for that? I don’t know, but I have real trouble thinking so. Pop Thy Collar’s quote of Romans 8:38- “nothing can every separate us from his love” – may well apply. I’d like to think so.

    I spent five years working at our local hospital guarding those who tried to commit suicide – and knowin a few who succeeded. I came to think of suicide simply as a tragedy, usually caused by a combination of alcohol and drug use. In most, but not all, of those cases, no one figured those people were likely to make heaven – but that was because of their total lifestyle, not particularly because of how they finally showed that that lifestyle had failed.

    I’ll be watching other comments with interest.

  4. I’ve watched the family of a man who committed suicide be torn up with guilt and grief. But he was a good Christian man with a good Christian family. And one of his daughters said it was the depression that took him, he wasn’t himself. There’s no question in my mind he’s in heaven. But the toll it took on his family and friends was unfair and wrong. It tore up a church. We grieved. It hurt.

  5. I think you’d have to be an Arminianist to believe that suicide condemns you

  6. Bible? To answer your question:

    1 Samuel 28:19, Samuel to Saul, “Moreover the LORD will also deliver Israel with thee into the hand of the Philistines: and to morrow shalt thou and thy sons BE WITH ME:”

    1 Samuel 31:5, “Therefore Saul took a sword, and fell upon it.”

    For others:

    Only God can give life, therefore only God has the authority to take it away (Job 1:21). There is a time appointed for each of us to die (Ecc 3:2), and it’s by the Lord’s will whether we live or die (James 4:15), not our own.

    Here is the thesis of a piece I wrote on suicide, if anyone would like a copy please email me at: mail@multitudeofcounsel.com

    “The view of morally justifiable suicide upholds an anthropocentric mindset in which sovereignty and sanctity of life ultimately fall within man’s autonomy. The Bible declares, in opposition, God’s ultimate sovereignty over man and a moral code that includes the command against the murder of human life. Suicide as a means to ultimately end suffering; whether physical, mental, or social; cannot be found within the Bible or the nature of man himself. The Bible presents no clear approval by a holy God of the intentional taking of one’s life as a means to an end or as an ultimate end in itself.”

  7. hi friend
    i saw that you subscribed to my blog today (imperfect prose)… unfortunately i no longer write on that blog; my new site is http://canvaschild.blogspot.com.

    my grandmother committed suicide. but i believe in a God of mystery and grace. i believe.

    peace to you, friend. e.

  8. Man, answers to questions like these are less like this: “you go to heaven” or “you go to hell” but… is God merciful? How merciful? is God graceful? is God just? How can he be just and merciful all at once? How can he NOT be just and merciful all at once? Is he more one or the other?

    My pastor once said “God is more gracious than sin is sinful.”

    If I told a lie yesterday and didn’t repent for it and died today and stood before the Lord, I do not think he would say “Stephanie, I know you love me whole heartedly and sought to live a life sprawled out in praise before me, but yesterday you lied to your roommate and you had the opportunity to ask for forgiveness but you didn’t, so I’m sorry but you’re in for a toasty eternity.”

    That is RUBBISH.

    I think this is my answer.
    Do people who commit suicide go to Heaven or Hell?
    Yes. God is gracious and just and merciful and jealous. I don’t get it, but I don’t need to.

  9. Wherefore I say unto you, All manner of sin and blasphemy shall be forgiven unto men: but the blasphemy against the Holy Ghost shall not be forgiven unto men.Matt 12:31

    There is only one thing that won’t be forgiven, blasphemy of the Holy Spirit.

    When Jesus died for me all my sins were yet future.

  1. Pingback: re: questions about suicide, Christianity, & the after-life. « Grow Up!

Leave a Reply

