Thanksgiving 2010.t, 2010.u, 2010.v, 2010.w, 2010.x, 2010.y, & 2010.z

Today I’m especially thankful for a godly mother. As her and I prepared to cook lunch for the family last weekend we were talking about how good God has been to us, and reminiscing over all that has happened (and could have happened) in our lives. We talked about our church and how thankful we were that the Lord had led us to a church where the truth is preached, the standards are high, and where the corrosion of compromise has not set in – all by the grace of God. We discussed so many things – things that I often take for granted, things I just “expect” to be in my life, things that could be taken away and dropped at any moment.

I want to remain faithful to the Lord – I don’t want to compromise the standards and convictions the Lord has asked of His children. I don’t want to forget the truth of the doctrine taught in His Word. I don’t want to ever walk away from what is right, and good, and acceptable to my Savior. God help me.

It’s easy to take the routine, mundane things for granted, and it’s easy to despise the things that bring us heartache and pain – but what about thanking God for those things? Each situation we face and circumstance we go through play a part in creating our future. Each event is carefully crafted and placed into our lives by God. He purposed for us to endure struggles at times… we shouldn’t cast them aside and sigh with relief when their over. We should embrace them, thank God for them, and ask Him what His purpose was for placing it in our lives – there’s something He wanted us to learn. But sometimes it will cost us something… sometimes it’s going to hurt…

I’ve been learning this every day for the past couple of months in my life. The question isn’t “why?” but rather “what?”  What are You trying to teach me, Lord? Please keep my heart open and my will in submission to You so that I may glean from this everything that You intended for me to receive.

I found this poem the other day and I really liked it. I emphasized the parts that really spoke to my heart – especially the portion about challenges. I hope it encourages you.

Be Thankful

Be thankful that you don’t already have everything you desire,
If you did, what would there be to look forward to?

Be thankful when you don’t know something
For it gives you the opportunity to learn.

Be thankful for the difficult times.
During those times you grow.

Be thankful for your limitations
Because they give you opportunities for improvement.

Be thankful for each new challenge
Because it will build your strength and character.

Be thankful for your mistakes
They will teach you valuable lessons.

Be thankful when you’re tired and weary
Because it means you’ve made a difference.

It is easy to be thankful for the good things.
A life of rich fulfillment comes to those who are
also thankful for the setbacks.

GRATITUDE can turn a negative into a positive.
Find a way to be thankful for your troubles
and they can become your blessings.

~ Author Unknown

As for my list of things that I am thankful for, well, here goes…

T:

  1. Time
  2. Testimonies
  3. Thanksgiving
  4. Transportation
  5. Teachers
  6. Thunder
  7. Tears

U:

  1. USA
  2. Uncles
  3. Ugg boots
  4. Understanding

V:

  1. Victory
  2. Videos
  3. Value
  4. Vacations
  5. Valleys
  6. Vegetables
  7. Vending machines (seriously)
  8. Vessels
  9. Vision
  10. Volleyball
  11. Voicemail
  12. Vows

W:

  1. Waiting periods
  2. Wishes
  3. “Well done.” – God
  4. Waffles
  5. Walking abilities
  6. Warmth
  7. Warnings

X, Y, & Z:

  1. X-rays
  2. Youth Group
  3. Yesterdays
  4. Years in time
  5. Youngsters
  6. Zoo
  7. Zealous Christians

“But I will sacrifice unto thee with the voice of thanksgiving; I will pay that that I have vowed. Salvation is of the LORD.” ~ Jonah 2:9

What are you thankful for…?

Posted on November 23, 2010, in Thanksgiving and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

