I wish she’d talk to Me.

Hannah stared at the screen of her phone and let out a deep sigh, “I wish he would text me…”  It had been a whole 24 hours since Daniel had had any form of communication with her. She really, really liked him, but he didn’t know that. Or maybe he did.

All of their previous conversations, e-mails, and text messages seemed like they had taken place so long ago. “He just makes me smile so much… he’s so funny, I feel like I’m in highschool again when I’m talking to him.”  She tried to explain the feelings she felt for him to her best friend. “Even if all he sent me was a smiley face, that would be enough… then I’d at least know he was thinking about me, too.”

Another day past, and still Daniel had not so much as even said hello to Hannah – they both had jobs, and school, and church ministries they were involved in, so moments of spare time were few and far between. Hannah felt as if she was being starved from any form of a relationship with him – friendship, dating, whatever. She felt a slight haze in her attitude whenever she went days without hearing from Daniel – it could almost be described as a nervous heartache.

She explained to her friend, “My rule is this: I rarely -if ever- text him first, and I never call him, unless I’m returning his call. I figure if he wants to talk to me, then he’ll make an effort to contact me – otherwise, there will be no communication.”

Finally, three days later Daniel texted her:  “Hey :] how’s it going? I hope you’re having a great weekend!”

Hannah smiled ear-to-ear, trying to decipher between what she wanted to say to him, and what she should say to him. Her fingers scampered across the keys of her cell phone as she aggresively typed up her reply.

~                    ~                    ~                    ~

Beyond the clouds in the vastness of eternal Heaven, God the Son looked down at her: “I wish she’d talk to me. It’s been 3 days now, and I miss hearing her voice…”  He watched her as she scampered through the mall, hurredly picking out Christmas presents for her friends and family. “She never seems to have time for me anymore, but all I want is a few minutes, just her and I.” 

He shifted His gaze to the left where her friends were gathered. “I won’t ever force myself on her, that’s why I don’t nag her to spend time with me. I want it to be her idea, that way when we talk I know it’s because she really wanted to.” 

The hurt was evident on His face, even the angels could tell His heartbreak by His posture as He sat on His thrown. He turned and whispered to the Father, “Even just a smile… just a little something to let Me know that she’s thinking about me too…”

Posted on November 22, 2010, in Story and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Very very good! This is exactly how I can imagine God feeling! So often we become wrapped up in everything around us, even good stuff, and forget the truly important parts of life!

    • It’s easy to get busy with the daily routines of life… I do it every day. If I don’t consciously make an effort to spend time with my Savior, it won’t happen.
      I hope you have a great evening!

  2. What a GREAT analogy! It’s SO true! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

