Thanksgiving 2010.h & 2010.i

Sometimes it’s easy to lose sight of the blessings that I have. Sometimes I allow my mind to get so wrapped up in itself that all I can see is what I don’t have, or what I wish I had, or what I think I should have, or what I think I shouldn’t have. I allow myself to become so self-absorbed that I can’t focus on anything that’s “good.”  This leads to the start of a really bad day…

And it progressively gets worse – my attitude gets worse, my cheerful countenance is non-existent, and I’m left spiritually and emotionally weak – all because I allow myself to get that way.

I admit, I had one of those days yesterday… and the day before. It was “rough” – but it was my own doing. When I realized how selfish I had been in my thinking, my heart broke. There are others who have nothing (materialistically speaking). There are people who have never heard the Name of Jesus Christ before. There are people who are dying of cancer, or people who don’t have arms or legs.

And I let two days be ruined over a miniscule car accident (well, 2 of them actually) that happened this weekend…? Wow. How selfish. No one was really hurt. My car has minimal damage, which is very fixible. There were no police or tickets involved with either accident.

My point? I have so much to be thankful for… but sometimes I lose sight of it. because of daily circumstances or minor trials that I face. The real problem is this: When I take my eyes off the Savior for a split second, I immediately start sinking. It’s as simple as that.

H:

  1. Health
  2. Hope for the hopeless
  3. Help in times of need
  4. Heaven
  5. Handiwork of God
  6. Home
  7. Honorable men
  8. Honest people
  9. Happy memories
  10. Heritage
  11. Heirlooms
  12. Hands
  13. Holidays
  14. Homework (yes, I’m a nerd…)
  15. Humble attitudes
  16. Hurts to strengthen

I:

  1. Impossible situations that God handles
  2. Indescribable peace
  3. Illumination joy
  4. Intense, awkward moments 🙂
  5. Indestructible salvation

“I will give thee thanks in the great congregation: I will praise thee among much people.” ~ Psalm 35:18

What are you thankful for…?

Posted on November 9, 2010, in Thanksgiving and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

