Waiting is the hardest part.

“Marilla, isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?”

“I’ll warrant you’ll make plenty in it,” said Marilla. “I never saw your beat for making mistakes, Anne.”

“Yes, and well I know it,” admitted Anne mournfully. “But have you ever noticed one encouraging thing about me, Marilla? I never make the same mistake twice.”

“I don’t know as that’s much benefit when you’re always making new ones.”

“Oh, don’t you see, Marilla? There must be a limit to the mistakes one person can make, and when I get to the end of them, then I’ll be through with them. That’s a very comforting thought.”

…that sums up how I’m feeling right now. Only, I seem to have the ability to make the same mistake twice. *sigh*

So here I sit this morning, eating my cheese bagel loaded down with cream cheese and drinking my orange juice. And I wonder: “Lord, what do You have for me today? What can I do that will bring glory to You?”

And His answer: “Wait…”

Waiting. I’m not good at it. I don’t like to sit still. So I end up rushing things… I make like a bull in a china shop and force my way through. Another mistake. And I keep making them. It’s part of my human nature… and my personality.

I know He has something big for me. I know He has a plan for my life – something that only I can complete. A story all my own to write; I’m to make a difference only I can make. I’m excited about the prospects. But I’m not always excited about the waiting.

“Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.” ~ Psalm 27:14

Sometimes the waiting is the hardest part. Sometimes the silence hurts the most. Sometimes being surrounded by people is when you’re most alone.

“…but God, You aren’t moving fast enough. I want to know now! I don’t think I can wait any longer!”

“Patience… just. be. patient.”

“God? Hello…? Aren’t You listening to me…? Why aren’t You giving me an answer?”

“I did answer you. I told you to wait. Aren’t you listening to Me?”

And on and on it goes. So here I am… anxiously waiting. Working on the patience part. Struggling. Hanging on. Waiting…

Posted on November 8, 2010, in Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I know what you mean. The frustration and boredom in the waiting is what gets to me. Still, He has something coming. Blessings!

    • It is frustrating. I think that’s what makes it so hard. Not that I get frustrated with God – because I know He does ALL things well. But I get frustrated with myself – I’m so impatient. I’m so hasty. I want things done now.

      But God delights in waiting. We can see that over and over again in His Word. And if I’m to be more like Him, then I must learn to wait.

      Blessings to you as well. 🙂

  2. Jesus had to wait until he was 30 before God started his ministry.

    Up till then he was manufacturing tables and shelves and chairs for the Nazareth community. Maybe he even had a market stall. Maybe he let the little children have a turn of the lathe in his dad’s workshop, or the odd bash of a nail. Put it this way, he was in his community, in a profession, doing a job, and waiting for the right time.

    I’m in my community, doing a job and waiting for the right time too. And I turn 30 next year… ;o)

    Great post.

    • You’re absolutely right. And that’s why I get so frustrated with myself…
      I know that waiting is part of God’s plan… I know He requires it of His children from time to time… *sigh*

      And while I am a few years off from 30, I’m also in my community, doing a job… and waiting… 🙂

      Thank you for the encouraging comment. He makes ALL things beautiful in His time. HIS time. Key word.

  3. I could not have put this any better, Heather! This is truly something our generation struggles with, due to our society’s fascination with instant gratification and the “want it now” attitude. I am constantly catching myself thinking “I deserve better than this!”, and I have to be reminded that “I am nothing.”

    • Absolutely. This is the generation who has drive-thru windows, hot-n-ready pizzas, 10-minute oil changes, and 20-minute food deliveries. (which, let me just add, I’m more than willing to take advantage of all of those things!)
      But it seems (especially in my own life) that I always want to apply those same things to my spiritual walk. Which, we know, there is no such thing as drive-thru Christianity.
      God bless, Andrew.

  4. I’ve heard it put “There is no such thing as Burger King Christianity. This is not “have it your way.” Christianity is like Wendy’s, hot, fresh, and old-fashioned!”
    I liked this quote, so I figured I would share… 🙂

Leave a Reply

