Thanksgiving 2010.c

It’s November 3rd – and all is well with the world. Why, you ask? Um… did you see the election results? Two words: “Goodbye, Pelosi!”

Anyways, back to the topic at hand. What I’m thankful for on this beautiful, November day. Oh, there’s so much. I was thinking last night -as I often do- about how good God has been to me. You know, looking back on my life, I couldn’t remember one prayer that He hasn’t given me a clear answer on – whether the answer was yes, no, or wait. Then my mind wandered over to my life before I was saved – what a mess. But Jesus fixed all that for me too. There’s no mess too big or ugly that He can’t completely turn around for His glory. Thank the Lord for it.

Here’s my list for today…

  1. Cross of Christ
  2. Chocolate
  3. Care packages
  4. Covenants of God
  5. Cheesecake (I need to stop making these lists when I’m hungry…)
  6. Cars (especially my Chevy Cobalt)
  7. Conservatives
  8. Colors
  9. Creativity
  10. Candles
  11. Cameras to capture special moments
  12. Christian friends
  13. Church
  14. Callings of God
  15. Chivalry
  16. Cheerful countenances

If I had the time I could go on and on about what I’m thankful for. I can’t say it enough – God has been SO good to me! And the best part of all – I don’t deserve a it of it. But God loves me and takes care of me in every way.

“Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name.” ~ Psalm 100:4

What are you thankful for?

Posted on November 3, 2010, in Thanksgiving and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. “And honestly, homosexuality shouldn’t even be a “struggle” for a “Christian.” It shouldn’t even be a thought in their mind. As the same remains true for all other sins – and while we fall short on all accounts with God, there is grace and there is mercy.”

    Honestly, a person who can’t even discern what the basic attributes of Vanity are has absolutely no reason to moralize to pastors and people who are dealing with life and death struggles. Really. Shaemeful.

    • Moi, based on your comment, I’m led to believe you did not read all of my comments on that post.

      As for my post on Vanity, please refer my response to your comment under that post.

      “moralize to pastors and people” – really? no. Discuss with and share Scripture and opinions, yes.

  2. Hey Heather! I found your blog through a fellow blogger and really enjoyed checking it out. I am a pastor and father with 6 children ages 10 to 20. I grew up in MI and we have homeschooled for part of our kids education so feel like we have some things in common. I can’t tell you how impressed and encouaraged I am to find a young Christian gal so in love with God and pursuing a closer walk with Him. My middle two children are twin 16 year old girls and I will be telling them about your blog so they can check it out. They enjoy being role models for younger Christian girls but have little in the way of older Christian gals like yourself to be encouraged by. I look forward to following your blog and especially your comments when you get down your reading list to Francis Chan’s books – they are excellent. If you get the chance stop by my blog spot at http://ilifejourney.wordpress.com/
    Blessings, Rick Alvey

    • Pastor Alvey,
      Thank you for visiting my blog and for leaving a comment – I really appreciate you stopping by!

      6 Children! That’s wonderful. What part of MI did you grow up in, if I may ask? And what curriculum did you use when homeschooling your children?

      Twin girls… 🙂 Sometimes I wish I had a twin – that would have been so nice. 16 years old is a good age – alot of important life-altering decisions are made during that time period in life. I hope that they will receive a blessing and an encouragement from Grow Up! if they are able to stop by.

      I’m am looking forward to reading Francis Chan’s books – I’ve heard nothing but good things about them.
      I’m on my way over to your blog right now. 🙂

      May God continue to richly bless you.
      ~ Heather Joy

      • Hey Heather,

        Thanks for stopping by my blog!

        The best part of the 6 kids is that we tried for 6 years and were told by doctors that we had a 5% chance of having kids. After trying everything humanly possible the only thing left was total surrender to God. The very next month Susan was pregnant! (He is a Sophmore at Anderson University and still fond of reminding us that he is our “miracle child.” lol)

        I grew up in Sturgis, MI and still have family there as well as the Kalamazoo and Holland areas. Susan and I met and married while attended Great Lakes Christian College in Lansing, MI.

        We’ve used a variety of homeschool materials such as Abeka, Alpha Omega, Shirly Grammar, etc. We found that there is no one best curriculum but they all have their strengths and weaknesses, just like us, so we tried to match it to the needs of each child.

        I enjoyed reading about your birth mom and younger brother and sister. If you get the time I’d enjoy hearing about your adoptive family and where you all live in MI.

        God bless you on the journey of following Jesus!
        Rick Alvey

        • Pastor Alvey,
          I enjoyed what I read on your blog earlier – I’ll definitely be back. 🙂

          What a wonderful God we serve!

          I have friends that used to live in Sturgis, MI – although I never had the chance to visit myself, they really liked it there. I was just in Kalamazoo and Holland for a Ladies Retreat with my church on October 22-23. Small world. 🙂

          I was homeschooled my whole life – I believe my mom started with ACE for preschool and the like. But we used Abeka all through gradeschool up until I graduated.

          The family that adopted me had adopted a son (Scott) almost 4 years before they adopted me. Our parents received the Lord as their Savior when they were 21 years old – they dove into His work right away and devoted their lives to the ministry whenever they were not working. About 15 years later when they were trying to have children because they could finally afford children, it was discovered that my mother could not have children. So began the process of trying to adopt. *Voila!* And my brother and I are the better for it. Praise the Lord.

          My parents have remained faithful to the Lord, and they served regularly in the youth, childrens, and awana ministries at the churches we attended. My father even started a nursing home ministry, and helped start a couple churches.

          It was in this way that I was brought up – I was in church every time the doors were open. My brother and I have always been very actively involved in various church ministries and programs throughout our lives. I accepted Christ (after a long battle of doubts) when I was 21 years old. and I don’t regret a mile. 🙂

          Blessings.
          Heather Joy

  3. P.S. – #17 on your list for today could have been “Can’t say enough…”

  4. I am interested to find out what avenues you use to increase traffic, interaction and commenting on your blog, Heather. I have many people who tell me in person that they like my blog, or maybe facebook message me, instead of commenting. When did you start this blog? And how do people find it? Any ideas?

  5. Thank you so much, Heather. I really appreciate the help!

Leave a Reply

