Question of the day: is it vain?

I like to look nice. I like to dress up in bows and ruffles, a belt and a jacket, topping it off with a trendy pair of high heels.

I like jewelry – and just about all accessories for that matter. I like necklaces, braceletts, earrings, headbands, purses, and sunglasses. I like that fashionable, trendy stuff – and I have plenty of it to go around.

I like to style my hair. I like to straighten it; I like to scrunch it; I like to curl it; I like to braid it, style an up-do, and tie it back. I like to dye my hair… brown, blonde, red, black… I’ve had just about every color in my hair at one point.

I like to wear make-up – not gobs and gobs – but the basics: foundation, bronzer/blush, eye-liner, mascara, lip gloss, and perhaps a pinch of eye shadow depending on the outfit I’m wearing. I like all natural colors though – none of this bright red, hot pink, and blue stuff.

I like to be tan. However, I have been blessed with skin that refuses to tan in the natural sun. The only way for my skin to change a shade or two is by going to a tanning salon. That’s right… if I want to have a tan, I have to purposely go to a tanning salon, get into a human oven for 15 minutes, and do something that I know probably isn’t the healthiest thing for my skin.

SO… here is my question. Is that vain of me? Is it selfish for me to want to have a nice, tan skin-tone enough to get a tanning salon membership and willingly bake myself for 15 minutes? No, there’s nothing in the Bible that says “Thou shalt not tan”; but do you think it’s okay, as a Christian, to do so? If you have a thought or opinion on the matter, please feel free to share it via the comment box below.

“Favour is deceitful, and beauty is vain: but a woman that feareth the LORD, she shall be praised.” ~ Proverbs 31:30

“Let us not be desirous of vain glory, provoking one another, envying one another.” ~ Galatians 5:26

“The LORD knoweth the thoughts of man, that they are vanity.” ~ Psalm 94:11

Posted on October 30, 2010, in Question of the Day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. You ask some tough questions! I wonder if perhaps they are the result of the urgings of the Holy Spirit that is working to help you be blessed through blessing others.

    We’re commanded to love others with a love that isn’t based solely on feelings but instead on actions just as Christ did for us through His sacrifice.

    The advice? Find a way to sacrifice in some area of your life that directly benefits another. Ask God to lead you in this.

    Love, like electricity, only flows when it’s connected…

    empowering it’s intended and warming it’s conveyor!

  2. This is a very good question indeed and brings up a lot of thoughts in my mind. I personally believe that there is not a real purpose in makeup or anything along those lines that are supposed to make a girl look better. God has given a girl natural beauty and thats what we should get to see! No need to hid it by putting goop and such all over your face! But dont get me wrong I would never make any girl change how she was because of my view or thought. Tanning is another big issue and question amongst people. The first thing you have to realize is that it truly is not good for the body it is concentrated UV rays on the body. The Bible says the body is the Temple of the Lord and we need to take care of it. Another thing is I know you cannot tan naturally and a lot of people cannot and that is the way God made you. I think as a Christian we should be content with the body God gave us and not try to change looks and things by man-made methods. The last thing is what is the whole purpose of getting in the tanning bed? Is it to make you look better? Is it so more people would notice you? You have to question your motive behind going to a tanning bed. For all Christians the purpose for everything should be to glorify God. So would going to a tanning bed be for a more selfish purpose or to glorify God?

    Brady

    • Brady, thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment!

      I like what you had to say. and I agree with you – God has given women natural beauty. But let me ask you a question: Do you not also think that if the barn needs painting, we should paint it?
      Sometimes there are cuts and scrapes, scars, and other blemmishes that are not necessarily “natural” – is it wrong to want to cover those up if at all possible, or should a lady have to walk around with a giant red spot inbetween her eyes? 🙂

      My reason for wearing makeup and having a tan are so I can look nice – and in so doing, being a good testimony by representing myself in an attractive manner so the Lord is pleased in how I care for myself.
      If I walk around looking like a frumpy scrub, will the Lord be glorified in that? I dare say He would not.

      I do struggle with whether or not tanning (ie. “fake and bake”) is something Christian ladies should do, that is why I have posed the question to my readers. Your comment does make sense, and I thank you for shedding a little more light on this for me.

      I hope you have a wonderful week!
      ~ Heather Joy

  3. Outer beauty will fade, but true inner beauty will remain.

  4. Wow. You ask such an obvious question on the topic of venity and have the nerve to go over to challies.com and lecture people — no regurgitate some memorized lines – on what you summize the Bible says to people who are in life and death battles with sin.
    amazingly deplorable.

    • “obvious question… of vanity” – I already know what I believe about the matter, I simply was encouraging discussion.
      “nerve to go over to” – It’s a public blog, at which there was a discussion going on. Still having the right to free speech as of right now, I put it to use.
      “lecture people” – hardly. Discussing with, yes.
      “memorized lines” – really? no.
      “surmise the Bible says” – is it so hard to understand that we have to “guess” or conjecture what it says? I serve a thorough God, and His Word is thorough.
      “life and death battles” – only if they are practicing the sin. Do they not choose for themselves?

Leave a Reply

