Be Thou My Vision.

I’ve been thinking a lot about vision lately. No, not the type of vision your eyes have; but rather a vision that you look to – goals, plans, dreams.

The verse in Proverbs 29 came to mind: “Where there is no vision, the people perish: but he that keepeth the law, happy is he” (vs 18). I’ve always thought that verse was talking about goals and dreams. But as a read a couple of online comentaries, I got a whole new perspective of what that verse was talking about. One commentary defined having no “vision” as having “no prophetic Word from God to His people.” I got to thinking…

What’s the Bible? The Bible is the Word of God. The Bible contains the prophecies of God. Let’s take it one step further… Who is Jesus? He was the only begotten Son of God. He was God Himself. The Bible says in I John 1:1 & 14, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.”

With that being said, the verse could also be read to mean “Where there is no Jesus, the people perish…”

I wonder if that’s what the author meant when he penned the following song:

Be Thou My Vision

Be Thou my vision, O Lord of my heart,
Naught be all else to me, save that Thou art;
Thou my best thought by day or by night,
Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light.

Be Thou my wisdom, Thou my True Word,
I ever with Thee and Thou with me Lord;
Thou my Great Father, I Thy true son;
Thou in me dwelling, and I with Thee one.

Be Thou my battle shield, sword for the fight;
Be Thou my dignity, Thou my delight;
Thou my soul’s shelter, Thou my high tower:
Raise Thou me heavenward, O Power of my power.

Riches I heed not, nor man’s empty praise:
Thou mine Inheritance now and always;
Thou and Thou only first in my heart;
High King of Heaven, my treasure Thou art.

 High King of Heaven, my victory won,
May I reach Heaven’s joys, O Bright Heaven’s Sun!;
Heart of my own heart, whatever befall,
Still be my vision, O Ruler of all.

written by: Dallán Forgaill

Just a thought. I could be way, far off and out of line. It’s happened before. But I liked it. Plus, what better “goal” or “dream” to have as a vision than Jesus? Nothing compares. Nothing exceeds. Nothing could possibly be any better. Be Thou My Vision has become one of my favorite hymns over the past week or so. It’s right up there with I’d Rather Have Jesus, Victory in Jesus, and Sweet Hour of Prayer in my books. 🙂 Have a wonderful day – keep the Vision of Jesus in focus.

Posted on August 18, 2010, in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Vision as in the way it’s used in 1 Samuel 3:1. The prophet coupled the Word of God with the power of God and bridged the gap between the word and the people of the day. Kind of like the role of the preacher today, also by the power of the Holy Spirit. So, vision maybe more so like the enlightening ministry of the Holy Spirit? It’s like the Ethiopian eunuch; he had the Word of God, but without Philip, filled with the Holy Spirit, who could take that passage in Isaiah and relate it to his personal need for salvation? Without that enlightenment the Ethiopian Eunuch surely would have perished!

  2. I like to share understanding that I’ve accumulated with the 12 months to assist improve group performance.

  3. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on buy real twitter
    followerss without following. Regards

Leave a Reply

