Four pennies and a promise.

I cannot even begin to tell you what a blessing tonight’s service was at Parkview Baptist Church‘s Old Fashion Tent Meeting. I don’t have time to go into all the details, but let me share something the Lord did specifically for me tonight.

I’ve heard the story before. There’s a little boy who had one penny. He ran into the corner store, dropped his penny on the counter, and asked the store owner what he could buy for a penny. The man pulled out a jar of candy and told the little boy that just one penny would buy a handful of candy. “A whole handful?” the little boy asked, and the man nodded in confirmation. The boy left his penny on the counter and darted back out the door. Puzzled, the man wondered where the boy had run off to. A few minutes later the little boy came walking back through the door with his dad following behind him. “A whole handful, right? My penny will buy a whole handful of candy…?” the boy asked again. “That’s right… a whole handful,” the man said. The little boy smiled and looked at store owner as his father reached into the jar of candy, then explained: “Daddy’s got bigger handfuls than me!”

I took a trip to the altar again tonight and cried like a baby… again. I’m so thankful for God’s grace and His mercy in my life. I’m burdened. I’m convicted. I’m saved. I’m thankful. I’m convinced. I’m trusting. I’m waiting. I’m praying. I’m amazed. I’m unworthy. I’m forgiven. I’m satisfied. I’m content. I’m sorry. I’m broken. I’m surrendered. I’m undeserving. I’m all of those things. And all of those things were the reasons behind my tears tonight, and every night this week. I went to the bathroom after the invitation so I could wipe the smeared mascara off my face, and there on the sink were 4 random pennies. It brought back to mind the story of the little boy the Preacher told just a few minutes earlier. I smiled. God was speaking to me as I stared at the pennies. He was making a promise to me – those pennies were God’s confirmation to me that my prayers will be answered. He’s going to perform a miracle – something only God can do – and not just one, but four of them just for me; one for each of those pennies.

About 15 minutes later I was sitting at a table enjoying some fellowship with friends when something caught my eye. There on the floor were four coins… not pennies, but nickles. I smiled even bigger. I’m on God’s mind. I’m on God’s heart. He’s going to do something amazing for me. Something even bigger than I can ever imagine. He’s a wonderful Savior to me. I don’t deserve anything He’s ever done for me. I’m so thankful that He’s a patient and loving Father.

Willing. Surrendered. Waiting. Serving.

I also (finally) learned an important lesson tonight in regards to my physical appearance: investing in waterproof mascara would be a smart move for me. 🙂

Posted on July 23, 2010, in Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Jeremy Wakefield

    Good read. Thank you for posting! It was a blessing.

  2. Had no sooner finished reading another friend’s blog, which said she was going to trust that God would do something amazing for her, when I found yours, which said the same thing – for you! Hope that, and the nickels, is a sign that He WILL do amazing things for you both.

    He can. My family’s had it happen. In fact, in the introduction to a book I’ve been writing (you can see the present draft at http://www.sparkleofnature.com), I said this: “when we quietly ask God to lead our lives, and mean it, he may do so in ways we could never have imagined and for which we would never have dared to dream, let alone ask!”

    That HAS been our experience. (The book gives examples.) I pray it’ll be yours too.

Leave a Reply

