I and a need have met.

This post is going to be different than most of the other things I’ve written on here. I’m going to be selfish for a few minutes and ask for your prayers – is that alright? Will you pray for me?

A few days ago, I posted the following as my status on facebook:

~~”If I and a need meet, God must have had in mind my filling it.” ~ Dr. Jack Hyles

When I posted that status, I never thought it would actually come back and land on my plate this quickly. But it did. Tonight I was presented with a need at my church, something that has been on this person’s heart and in this person’s prayers. I was asked to fill that need – the problem is my schedule. Without getting into specifics, I’ll lay the basic idea out: with work, teaching piano lessons, going to school full-time, Phi Theta Kappa, and other church ministries – my plate is almost completely full. To commit to this need would mean that I would be making my “plate” overflow. It would mean that serious construction and RE-construction will have to be done to my current schedule.

I WANT to meet this need, but I’m not sure if it would be wise for me to do so at this time. II Thessalonians 3:13 came to my mind: “But ye, brethren, be not weary in well doing.” I prayed for the Lord to give me a ministry in which to serve – I’m not sure if this is His answer to my prayer, or if by so taking on this committment I’ll wipe myself out.

Please pray for me that God will guide, direct, and make clear what His will is concerning this matter. I want to serve the Lord, but I also want to be careful that I don’t take on more than I can handle – and in so doing, not be able to give it my all and my best. Nothing is worse than a job half-done, especially when it comes to the work of God. If something’s worth doing, then it’s worth doing the right way – and this ministry is beyond worth doing.

Please pray with and for me in this area of my life. I need the Lord to make His will clear, and I need His wisdom in discerning what direction He would have me go. Thank you all so much.

Posted on July 11, 2010, in God's Will and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I do agree with you about taking on too much and burning yourself out but I wanted to tell you what my husband says about getting a job done. He has always said: “If you want a job to get done, ask someone who is busy to do it.” Now, I know some people can “appear” to be busy but never get anything done. But, a person who is always getting things accomplished is the person to ask to get a job done. I will pray that you make the right decision and that the Lord will make it very clear to you as what you should do. It is encouraging to see a young person that wants to serve the Lord and give their time to Him.

    God Bless you,
    Tina Green

  1. Pingback: Update: I and a need have met. « Grow Up!

Leave a Reply

