Repost: Have you seen my husband?

Let’s face it – we all get lonely at times. We all want that special someone that we can call our own. I think it’s safe to say that this feeling is not a 24/7 feeling – there are times when I am glad I am single – but the majority of the time, I generally like to dream of having a significant other.

Most every girl dreams of how her wedding will be, where she’ll go on her honeymoon, where she’ll live, how she’ll decorate her house, what she’ll name her children, etc. I’ll be honest with you, I have everything already planned out… and I mean everything. I know what I want my dress to look like (I even have a picture!), I know some of the people who will (most likely) be in the wedding party, I have most of the music picked out already, I already know who I’m going to ask to be the pianist, I have the menu planned out, I even know what I want my cake to look like (and let me tell you, it’s spectacular)! Most every girl also dreams of sharing those dreams with Prince Charming – who, of course, will be tall, dark, and handsome. 😉

This is all perfectly normal and good – but I think the problem is this: most girls are so eager to get married that they will accept the first male thing that comes along that has a head of hair and two working legs.

I have a challenge for the girls: pray for your future husband; ask God to bring theright one across your path; and then patiently wait. The waiting part is the hardest. Trust me, I know… from experience. Girls, if we would just realize that God has a perfect plan for our lives, and that He will bring it to pass in His perfect time – then everything else would just fall into place. We’d stop worrying about the when’s, what if’s,why’s, and who’s. C.S. Lewis said it this way:

“A woman’s heart should be so close to God that a man should have to chase Him to find her.”

I like that. Stop trying to find that perfect someone for you… let God bring him to you! Truly, God has a plan – and if we would just do His will, we would have no time for disputing with Him as He works to put together the puzzle. I like what Eric Ludy (the author of “When God Writes Your Love Story”) said:

“If I ever expected a match made in Heaven, I knew I had to give Him (God) the pen to write my love story.”

Instead of searching for earthly, physical love – set out on a quest to better know the love of God. Let yourself be consumed in His presence! Remember: “Seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you” (Matthew 6:33).

Originally posted on July 23, 2009.
Heather Vires ©

Posted on July 5, 2010, in Relationships, Repost and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Did you ever listen to “Woman of God” by Larry Norman?

    I need a woman who doesn’t take drugs or mess with men,
    Believes the Bible and despises sin,
    Lifts me up instead of knocking me down
    Follows God instead of running around.
    I need a woman who’s kind and true
    I haven’t found her but until I do,

    I’ll be looking for a woman of God,
    A woman with a righteous heart.
    I’ll be looking for a woman of God,
    Who doesn’t easily fall apart.

    I need a woman who knows the measure of what she’s worth
    Stores up treasure but not on earth.
    Seeks God’s will in all that’s done,
    And keeps her eyes on the holy one.
    I need a woman who’s kind and true
    I haven’t found her but until I do,

    I’ll be looking for a woman of God,
    A woman with a righteous heart.
    I’ll be looking for a woman of God,
    Who doesn’t easily fall apart.

    spoken: The Bible says – a good wife, who can find?
    She’s more precious than jewels.
    The heart of her husband is glad in her
    She clothes her children in purple;
    Her lamp does not go out at night.
    She is known among the people in the city
    And her children shall rise up and call her blessed.

    I’m looking for a woman of God,
    A woman with a righteous heart.
    You know, I’m looking for a woman of God,
    Who doesn’t easily fall apart.

    It says it all really.

    STEPHEN

    • This is beautiful; thank you for sharing it.
      You’re right, it does say it all.
      But… a word to those who may have wandered away from the Lord and allowed themselved to be tainted by the world: perhaps you have have come back to the Lord and now desire to serve Him with your life. but maybe you also feel that because you have been tainted and scarred by the sins of your past that you’ll never be “good enough” for a good, Christian husband/wife. throw all of those thoughts out the window – we serve a God of second (and third and fouth and…) chances. He has a plan for your life, and He will bring it to pass in HIS time.

  2. Wow, a young lady who has a desire to have a Godly husband and is willing to wait for heaven’s best—thanks for sharing. Have you ever read Elizabeth Elliot’s “Passion for Purity”? If not—do so, I think you’ll enjoy it.

  3. Those are great ones! My two oldest kids both choose courtship over dating and now are happily married to godly spouses. It’s worth the wait and will of God.

Leave a Reply

