The oven’s on, but nothing’s cooking.

When I got home from work, I cooked up some lunch for my mother and I. The meal of choice was… fish! I placed the cod fillets in the pan; doused them with lemon juice (actually, maybe “drowned” would be a better word choice); sprinkled Mrs. Dash, minced garlic, minced onions, ground basil, and fresh-cut onions on top; then I placed them in the oven to bake for 22 minutes. You can only imagine what the kitchen smelled like…. onion and garlic to the max! When they were done cooking I took them out of the oven, spread some butter on the top of each one, proceeded to dump even more lemon juice on them… then finally ate one.

I’m not going to lie… it tasted amazing. And while I savored every bite, I sat on my bed and my mind took a gander. When I got done daydreaming, I went back in the kitchen to put what was left in the refrigerator. Then I saw it… I had left the oven on – I forgot to turn it off when I was done with it! “Oh, mom would be SO proud…” I said to myself as I rolled my eyes. “The oven’s on, but nothing’s cooking…”

Then it hit me. That’s how I’ve lived most of my life. The oven’s turned on – but there’s nothing cooking inside. Or rather… I’m a Christian, I’m saved – but I haven’t done much for the Lord. My purpose as a Christian is to bring others to the saving knowledge of Jesus Christ – but when I’m quiet, complacent, and backslidden what good does my Christianity do anyone else? Just like if the oven’s on but there’s nothing inside cooking, what good does it do? I can’t feed anyone if I don’t cook anything. Same thing goes for my Spiritual Life – I can’t help anyone if I’m empty.

If you’re saved, the oven’s on. Start filling it and cooking things – turn the heat up – so you can help lead others in the direction that leads to a saving knowledge of Christ and a life lived for the Lord.

Posted on June 30, 2010, in Christian Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

