Selfish with the Gospel.

Last night after my church’s evening service, I went out with a group of people to the Livonia Spree – not to engage in the festivities or watch the fireworks, but to hand out Gospel tracts to a lost and dying world. Altogether, there were three boys and three girls embarking on this mission. I, not having done much of this before, was pretty nervous to walk around and try to talk to people I had never before met in my life. In fact I thought, *well, I could just let Rachel and Andrea hand out all the tracts, and I’ll just smile and hold my Bible and be here for moral support…* Pretty good plan, if I thought so myself. I attempted to hand out one or two, but the people wouldn’t look at me, or they snarled and refused the pamphlet. I hoped that we would get these things passed out quickly so we could just be done. To be quite honest, I was intimidated – we were the minority.

Then the Lord convicted me of how selfish I was being. I could sense the Holy Spirit talking to me: “Heather… each person you pass out here is My creation, and I love them. I want them for Myself. I gave my life for them! Stop judging, stop being selfish – they need you. Each one has a soul; each one has an eternity, and you’re holding the key to Heaven in your hands… share it! And one more thing… each person you fail to reach out to – their eternity is on your hands.”

That was all I needed to hear. 1) because I didn’t want to be held accountable one day for not obeying the Lord. 2) because I’m so glad someone wasn’t selfish with the Gospel when it came to my soul. And 3) because I may be the only Jesus they ever see, or Bible they ever read. At that point, the thought that ran through my head was, *We don’t have enough tracts… We’re going to run out, and then what will we do?!*

Did everyone accept a tract? No. Will everyone who did accept one actually read it? I hope so. But at least I have a clear conscience toward the Lord, knowing I obeyed and did my part. Our little group of 3 girls handed out approximately 200 Gospel tracts last night! Please pray for those who received one, and for the Holy Spirit’s working in their hearts.

“Also I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, Whom shall I send, and who will go for us? Then said I, Here am I; send me.” ~ Isaiah 6:8

Posted on June 28, 2010, in Soul Winning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great Post. Only the Lord knows who those gospel tracks will reach. God bless.

  2. Hey Heather, thanks for Facebook following my blog! I really struggle with sharing my faith, and I try to keep a clear conscience, but it’s really hard for me. Good for you for being bold. See you around! Grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

