Starving myself of the world.

It’s a common verse, we’ve all heard it before.
“As the hart panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after thee, O God.” (Ps. 42:1)

That verse came to my mind this morning. I am thirsty. I am panting for God, I want more of Him. I remember a time when I was not so thirsty – a time not too very long ago. And I asked myself why. Why didn’t I want to live for the Lord? Why didn’t I thirst after Him? Why wasn’t I hungry and wanting to be filled with the things of God? Here’s what I came up with…

I was full up on the world. I constantly gorged myself on wrong company, wrong conversation, and wrong activities. I purposely would schedule events and classes so I would be “unable to attend” Christian activities, and sometimes church. I was so stuffed from the world, that there was no room left for anything spiritual. And people noticed – how could they not?  It wasn’t until after I got a taste of “Christianity” that I saw how far away I had wandered. That is when the Lord started working on me. I was convicted about so much in my life… I needed to change my diet. I needed to start hungering a thirsting after the right stuff. Was it easy at first? yes and no.

It was easy because I desired it; but it was hard because my flesh wanted the old stuff – what I was “comfortable” with. In faith, I am pressing forward, hungering and thirsting for more of God, more of His Word, more truth. I hunger for these things because I am starving myself of the world. I am “coming out from among them” and separating myself unto God.

Maybe that’s what the Psalmist meant when he wrote, “O taste and see that the LORD is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in him.” (Ps. 34:8).

Pray for me as I continue to seek after the Lord. Pray for me that I will be found as the Lord continues to seek after me.

Posted on June 26, 2010, in Christian Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

