I never asked for ketchup.

“Here you go! Is there anything else I can get for you?” the employee handed me the paper bag that contained the bacon cheeseburger and french fries I had just paid for.

“Yes, thank you… can I have some salt, please?”

“Ketchup…?”

“No, salt….” it was too late. He had already turned his back to me and was digging through a plastic bin. When the sliding-glass window opened again, his extended arm handed me three ketchup packets. The window closed quickly the moment his arm was back inside.

“Thank you…?” I stared with a puzzled look at the ketchup. I then started a conversation with my steering wheel: “I never asked for ketchup… I asked for salt. Ketchup. Salt. They don’t even sound alike. This isn’t what I wanted…”

~   ~   ~   ~

As I drove away from the drive-thru window the Lord started speaking to me. In a way, that ketchup is alot like sin. We ask the world for good times; we want to have fun and do whatever we feel like doing — but we don’t want the consequences that follow. And while we seem to enjoy indulging in the world’s folly for a season, the after-effects of sin leave us in a messy heap saying: “I never asked for this. I never wanted to go through this. All I ever wanted was to have a little fun…” But at that point, it will be too late. The sliding, glass drive-thru window will be shut, and we’ll be left holding the world’s substitute instead of what God wants to give us. You can’t go back; you can’t “undo” what’s been done.

Thankfully, I’ve discovered that God has a “delete” button! He’ll take all of what the world gave me, and He’ll erase it – it’s called forgiveness. I can take him my unwanted ketchup packets and in return He’ll give me salt.

Something my Pastor says quite often is this: “Sin will take you farther than you want to go, keep you longer than you want to stay, and cost you more than you want to pay.” And I believe that with all my heart – because I’ve experienced it first hand.

Now… not that there’s anything wrong with ketchup… It just happened to be the culprit of my post for today. So feel free to go ahead and dip your french fries in it or squeeze a little on that leftover meatloaf your mom cooked up for you — I won’t judge. 🙂

Posted on June 13, 2010, in Christian Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on I never asked for ketchup..

Comments are closed.

