holding on to me.

A friend asked me the other day to pray for her… she said she was just going through something and needed to “grasp the hand of her Savior a little tighter.” I prayed for her right then and there.

As I was driving today, I was listening to The Perry’s sing my favorite song on this particular CD – the song is titled “Holding On To Me” and it goes like this:

Verse 1:
I don’t feel like hurting today,
I feel like running away
From all the heartache and pain
That haunts my soul.
I’m reaching for something bigger;
Someone who knows how I feel…
I just can’t stand, so I’ll kneel
Until I learn to let go…

Chorus:
Then with all of my might I held on for dear life –
Often scared of embrace until I came to this place
Where I learned about my Keeper –
The One Who said He’d never leave;
But when I went to hold on to Him
He was holding on to me.

Verse 2:
Two sets of footprints in the sand
Proved that He was holding my hand;
And now on my own I can stand
And it’s all because of Him.
But when one pair disappeared
I felt a hand gently draw me near –
He carried me through all my fears
In arms of love He took me in.

(Chorus Again)

The whole point is really this: whether His child is grasping His hand or not, He’s grasping theirs. And He will never let go. Comforting? I think yes. In fact, it’s beyond. All we need is the faith that God will carry out His promises like He said He would – and we know that He is not a man that He should lie.

“…for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.” ~ Hebrews 13:5b

Posted on June 11, 2010, in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on holding on to me..

Comments are closed.

