Extensive reading.

Ever since I first watched Pride & Prejudice I admired Miss Elisabeth Bennet. Her quick-witted responses, sense of humer, honesty and good judgement (for the most part), and her purity of spirit are all qualities anyone would desire to have. I have watched this movie countless times, and could quote many of the lines to you. I admit it… I have a problem. :]

One of my favorite parts in the story was when Elisabeth stayed at Netherfield (Mr. Bingley’s home) with her sister Jane, who was ill at the time. The conversation that took place in the drawing room while Elisabeth sat reading a book that evening was as follows:

Mr. Bingley: All young ladies are accomplished! They sing, they draw, they dance, speak French and German, cover screens, and I know not what!

Mr. Darcy: Not half a dozen would satisfy me as accomplished.

Miss Bingley: Certainly! No woman can be esteemed accomplished, who does not also possess a certain something in her air, in the manner of walking, in the tone of her voice, her address and expressions.

Mr. Darcy: And to this she must yet add something more substantial, in the improvement of her mind by extensive reading.

Miss Bennet: I’m no longer surprised at you knowing only six accomplished women. I wonder at your knowing any.

….and yet, I have never actually *read* Pride & Prejudice. Oximoron? Perhaps. I’ll defend myself by adding that I do at least have a copy of it on my bookshelf.

I am reading several other books, however, in an effort to “improve my mind by extensive reading.” What books, you ask?

  1. Life Quest (Cary Schmidt)
  2. A Lineage of Grace (Francine Rivers)
  3. Quest for Love (Elisabeth Elliot)
  4. Passion & Purity (Elisabeth Elliot)
  5. Don’t Waste Your Life (John Piper)
  6. Stop Dating The Church!: Fall In Love with the Family of God (Joshua Harris)
  7. Just Friends: Guarding Your Heart for a Wonderful Someday (Mike Ray/Cary Schmidt)

…and, of course, I am reading my Bible as well. As you can see from the picture, I have a copy of the KJV 1611 Edition which has been interesting to study and compare to the KJV edition that is more commonly used today.

Currently, I have only started reading the first 2 books. I recieved books 3 – 6 in the mail today, and am expecting book 7 to come in the mail tomorrow.

I’ll let you know what I learn from each book, along the way AND after I complete them.

Posted on June 9, 2010, in Book Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

